starter home despondency

OK, so here's why I'm down. Hubby and I found the house of our dreams yesterday. I guess we didn't think thru what we could realistically spend because if we bought that house, we'd be poor till we get our student loans paid off (7 yrs). If one of us got sick or lost our job, we'd never make it. I wanted the house so badly. I cried a bit last night. I wouldn't be surprised if our real estate agent dumps us now after she finds us what we want and we turn it down because we went by what the mortgage broker told us we could afford. Ha. No, we even shaved some of THAT off- he told us we could afford even more than our limit WAS. Now our limit for what we want to spend for a house has gone down even further and we're going to be forced to buy a starter home. Probably 2 bed and 1 bath. My mother in law will bitch about it- she has been telling us not to get 2 bedrooms AND not to get a house payment we can't afford if one of us loses our job. This all came about because one of hubby's brothers may be losing his job in the Connecticut state layoffs, and the other brother has a 2 bedroom house. The two bedroom house bothers her because what if we have a boy and a girl someday? Well, that's a chance we're going to have to take because we can't have a large, cheap home unless we buy the Bates Motel or something. SO, my mother in law will just have to complain about our poor choices to the rest of the family. I don't give a damn anymore, all I know is that we need the tax writeoff, we need to build equity, and I NEED TO HAVE A GARDEN AND GET OUTSIDE ONCE IN A WHILE OR I'M GOING TO GO CRAZY.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-01-22 at 7:27 a.m.
comment