goddamn pothole

Yesterday hubby was at work and I decided to go tanning at the swanky expensive tanning salon (bought a package deal- what the hell, I deserve it). Guaranteed not to burn. Anyway. I hit 2 giant potholes on the way there. The car starts shuddering. I pull into a parking lot, get out, and see that my passenger side front tire is COMPLETELY flat. OK. Open the trunk. Can't get the spare out- it's kept in place by a lug. Struggle witht the jack- I pulled and grunted and pulled some more. I got the jack out. I jack up the car. Still not sure why I did that, because you're supposed to loosen the lugs before you jack up the car. Anyways, I have no lug wrench to get the spare out or the flat tire off. I call my brother #3. He, his wife, and their 2 kids show up. He uses his lug wrench and changes my tire. I hate, HATE feeling like a weak, incompetent woman.

The tire couldn't be fixed. Found out also that it was a special tire that only one place in town sells. $228.00 later I'm back on the road. Phew.

God bless family.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-04-05 at 6:19 p.m.
comment