Awful, Awful AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have no idea where to begin with my trip to Valdisease to see Shannon. The wildlife cruise she took me on (with 2 free passes) was nice- we saw otters, sea lions up close. I don't know how to start this...um... she annoyed the HELL outta me. She has a goddamn B.S. in Aquatic Resources with not one, not even two, but THREE emphases, and lives hand to mouth. I told myself I wouldn't preach, and I didn't. She works for $7/hr. as a cocktail waitress, and the whole time I was there all I heard about was HER. She never ONCE asked me about how I was doing, my work, my family, NOTHING. It was her talking about her "floor" (in the bar), her customers, the wife she pissed off by screwing the lady's husband- this lady is now harrassing her- threw a Shower to Shower bottle thru Shannon's motorhome window (after breaking it out). The Shower to Shower bottle had the word "SLUT" written on it in black marker. She admitted that she has a bad reputation in town. She mentioned at least 4 guys she's slept with since she broke up with her boyfriend last August, but I know there's more that she didn't tell me. Shannon wanted to "introduce me to people" and took me to a bar. There she introduced me to all her fishermen friends and then ignored me. At 1AM when I explained that I was tired and not used to staying up that late, she offered me the keys to her motorhome because she "wasn't ready to quit partying yet". She had the NERVE to try to ditch me when I drove 6 hours to see HER, not all those people she acts so fake with. I got so SICK of hearing the same, stupid stories of her family and fishing blah, blah, blah. She's been telling those stories since she was twelve years old- I remember them. She acts fake, puts on a front with the fishermen like she's some big, tough fisherwoman or something= one of the "guys"- it's a joke and I can see right thru it. I started snapping at her- should've left yest. but we rented movies and I hoped we were gonna stay in her motorhome and watch movies, maybe drink there if she HAD to drink. But no, she wanted to take me out, complained and bitched about herself and her life, made up excuses about why she can't just start over- she owes $30,000 for the motorhome, about $30,000 for student loans, she maxed out at least 4 credit cards, it floored me. Yet she smokes pot ALL day and gets drunk each night. I knew when I got there Sunday at 11 and she was grumpy with me for being early that I was in trouble. I should have just left. Oh, she does cocaine now too- not while I was there but said "oh, I just tried it once", then later "I just tried it a couple times" yeah, right. She didn't shower the whole time I was there- I went to a nearby RV park to take a shower because she doesn't use her water for some reason. The whole time I was there I never saw her brush her hair or her teeth either. In 30 years she's gonna be just like Victoria, a friend from college. It's sad, and all I do is wonder, is it me? Was I bitchy? I don't think I was, and hubby and my other friend said I did nothing wrong when I told them. I couldn't wait to get outta Valdez today. She's fake. But she was saying shit that would just set me off, like in the bar she mentioned that the bar she worked at was for "hobnobs", and THIS bar was for FISHERMEN, for the HARD WORKING folks. So, if you work behind a desk you're not hard working? Am I being too judgemental? No one else seems to think so. She has too many excuses for why she won't do anything about her life, she said at first she was happy, then later admitted she was lonely, etc. But she WON'T get back together with her ex boyfriend because he is an alcoholic and she would have to QUIT DRINKING to be with him. So I said "so, you're trying to say he's not worth quitting drinking for?" She didn't know how to answer. God. I am so pathetic I caught myself thinking about whether or not I should send her $50 for her birthday. Nope. Not gonna. But I DID tell Shannon that she could stay with me if she chose to start over. Excuses, excuses of why it was too hard and she was stuck... If I think of more, I'll write again today. I'm just overwhelmed.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-06-25 at 6:13 p.m.
comment