sigh :-)

We had such a good time on our trip! Hubby and I drove to Beaver Creek, Yukon and stayed the night in a hotel room with NO TV- hubby was distressed, but managed ok. Hotels were pretty cheap in Canada, and once we got started staying in hotels, we forgot all about camping. So from Beaver Creek we drove to Whitehorse, which is a neat town, sthen on to Skagway- the drive to Skagway was wonderful! Some of the most beautiful scenery I've ever seen. It was rocky, alpine, hard to explain, but it was amazing. The fog was creepy too- the terrain made it feel like we were driving on the moon or something. Anyway, we were in Skagway for 4th of July- saw the parade, went around the touristy town with hundreds of people from 4 HUGE cruiseships docked out front of the town. We drove to Dyea and took pictures, saw a really old cemetery with graves from a snowslide in 1898. We had planned on driving back to Whitehorse, but decided to hop on the ferry with our car and go to Haines, which we did. Skagway was so cold and windy- I've not been that cold in the summer in a long time. The ferry ride was windy and rainy too- we rode the Malaspina, thank GOD, because I hate the LeConte (the little ferry). I stayed outside in several layers of clothing, including a raincoat, and let the wind and rain pelt my face. It was great!

We didn't stay in Haines Friday night, but drove right on to Haines Junction, Yukon, and stayed there. I drank pear cider (my favorite thing about being in Canada). I LOVE pear cider and wish they sold it in liquor stores here. Yum. Anyway, on the way to Haines Junction we saw 2 brown bears right off the road. No cars were around for miles, so we just sat and watched and took pictures. From Haines Junction we decided to drive home the next day, which we did, and got home last night around 9:30. It was a fun trip and I really needed it, as I have been so stressed at work lately. I'm ready to go back now. This really, REALLY helped. Hubby and I got along great, and I love him more than ever.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-07-07 at 6:37 p.m.
comment