I love you dad.

Enjoyed last night at my parents'. Dad is doing well after his surgery, and you wouldn't even know he's had it except for the bandages- he's his old self. So glad.

Mom and I had a long, meaningful talk about my brothers and how they don't call or visit dad hardly. Poor dad waited all day on his birthday for the "boys" to call and no one did. My brothers need to realize that dad won't be around forever, and they will regret not spending the time with him. One of my brothers called this AM and said he "might" be by. After dad hung up he mentioned to mom and I that they never come when they say they "might". He's right. Another brother told me a few weeks ago "Well, I don't worry about dad because he has Twila (my mom) and YOU". Like somehow I fill a void for dad that he doesn't need his other kids around or something, I don't know. My brothers are nice guys, but so damn caught up in their Anchorage lives that they don't get out of town, or when they do, it's with their own wives and kids and they don't make it out to see our dad. My dad is the most important man in my life. He is wise, kind, and trustworthy. I love my dad. I'm a daddy's girl and I always will be.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-08-10 at 11:50 p.m.
comment