ah, home...

Sat. went to visit parents- brought mom some of my old clothes. We went to a birthday party for her friend- 60th birthday. Her friend's kids just used the occasion to get drunk and make fools out of themselves. Typical crap from where I come from. The birthday "girl" had a great-grandchild there. The kid's mom looked like his babysitter. Again, typical. I should've taken pictures of ALL her adult children, their wives, and THEIR children, oh, and their children too, and submitted them to: http://www.mulletjoe.com/mulletgallery1.htm

anywhoo..the next day mom and I drove to a hippie town up the road and visited her friend and her family. That darn 9 year old thought I was there to play with her. I didn't want to be rude, but she had me walking thru the woods with her, as she proudly showed off the family's piles of dirt, etc. I had to keep shaking her off me, literally, and her mom wouldn't tell her to leave me be! That child wanted me to swing with her, play on the teeter totter- hey, I mean, I like to play, but enough is enough. Such a country family tho- brings me back to the important things- love, family, peace. They live in a tiny unfinished house, half log, half whatever, with piles and piles of junked cars, tarps, tools, etc. all over the property, but they are happy, and that's what matters. Despite being annoyed at the 9 year old, I feel I came away with more from that visit than I expected.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-09-02 at 1:11 p.m.
comment