pyccki

Coworker (the clueless one) shamed me into going to her "party lite" candle party today. I don't really want to go, but she nearly begged me...so off I go! It's this afternoon at her sister in law's. I hate feeling so obligated to buy at those parties. Maybe I'll set a limit and not go over that amt. because I don't need candles.

I got the mortgage stuff worked out- was on the phone for hours, it seemed like. I'm getting a letter from the collection agency that states that I owe nothing and have no acct. there (not to mention that the debt ISN'T MINE). I'll send that letter to whoever the hell needs it and hopefully, once the IRS sends me printouts for 2000 and 1999 we'll be done. Damn IRS computers were down when I went there over my lunch hour last week. It's scarier in there than the DMV or the post office in the town we lived in previously- I hated that post office. I would always mess up and not have the correct ppwk or something and would be sent to the back of the line. The damn post office workers were so "disgruntled", they were like Seinfeld's soup nazi- telling me I'd screwed up and had to go to the back of the line ie. "NO STAMPS FOR YOU!"

I actually had anxiety problems going to that Palmer post office. How sad is that!

My bro moves into his new trailer tomorrow. I hope to help him move. I'm not at mom and dad's this weekend, although I feel guilty, which I shouldn't. We got let off at 1:30 PM from work yest. but of course I had a court hearing and then a meeting so I worked till 5- but that's OK, because I brainstormed a bit with another lady. We're desperate to find a foster home for a teen boy. So sad, poor kid is good- he's actually a GOOD teen boy! He deserves better than the cold, unfeeling home he's in now. I heard my bro's neighbor has talked about being a foster parent so I plan on talking to her. If we don't act soon, I'm afraid what will happen to him.

So, I got this candle thing to go to, and in the 3rd week of Sept. Russian delegation is coming for business w/our agency. The person arranging it asked for help, and I offered. I may have a few folks for dinner, take them on errands, etc. I'm excited. It should be fun. I'll try not to clobber their language too much- it's been 8 years. I can't believe it- since I was an exchange student there. SO, I got invited to a special hobnob's breakfast for the Russians the AM they get in. The CEO, atty, etc. from our agency will be there and ME- a lowly caseworker! No one from work (except the coordinator of the event) will have any idea why I'm there- there's such a class system at work, it's pathetic. I was worried about not being important enough to go, but she said it was nonsense, and SHE decides who goes and it's by invitation only, and I AM invited! SO, I'm gonna hold my head high and be proud of who I am.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-09-07 at 9:14 a.m.
comment