long entry about my weekend, family,

Yesterday I had lunch with my SIL and my new neice (2 months)and then went to watch my brother speak at a Legislative Questionnere and Debate. There were a few people I knew and I talked with a social worker that has left her job to go back to school- really sweet British woman that told ME the last time we'd seen each other, that I had intimidated her at our first meeting. She and I chatted a bit- she wanted to know about a client but I couldn't tell her much- bad news anyway. My bro did good with his speech/answering questions, but he's always so hard on himself that he thought he could've done better.

Afterwards I rented 2 movies and came home. Hubby came home from work and we did laundry and drove around while it was in the washer, and then the dryer. He says he's ready to contact a real estate agent. I need to find out the name of the one that my other brother Lloyd used- I've heard that she's good. So, anyhow, today is Sunday, and I may go to Lloyd's house and help my 14 yr old nephew with the computer (setting up email, etc.) or I may go to a movie, depending on if Lloyd & his boy are home or not. Poor kid told me last weekend his mom (a severe addict) ruined his life. He talked about her drinking/drug use, and how she would leave him alone for long stretches of time. Thank God he's with my brother now, but I worry because Lloyd isn't his bio dad and has no legal ties to him, and his ex wife (nephew's mom) hasn't signed the delegation of parental authority I gave out. Well, you do what you can, I guess. Lloyd swears that his ex has a will, and he's named as my nephew's caretaker if something should happen to nephew's mom. That is actually very likely, because she's pretty much near dead now from so many years of hard living.

Good grief, how sad- gonna move on to happier topics. Well, maybe happier- yest. I went thru all my clothes and folded/bagged a bunch up. I took them to the homeless shelter because I'd heard they needed women's clothing. A guy came out to ask me if I needed help bringing the clothes in- I assumed he worked there- and I said no, that I had it under control. He then asked me "You don't happen to have any men's winter jackets in there, do you?" I felt bad for him, and if I had a men's coat I would've given it to him right there in the parking lot. Anyhow, as I was leaving, the crowd of homeless hanging out at the soup kitchen across the parking lot, came rushing over to the shelter as I was pulling out- wanted to see what I'd brought, I guess. It made me feel sad, but good too- I gave away jeans, sweatshirts, etc.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-10-13 at 8:55 a.m.
comment