death, valley memories of rumors, etc.

My friend Sophie called at 9 last night and wanted to know what I was doing that night. I just am not a night person. I don't party/drink often, and I don't stay out late. I told her I was in my pajamas and I wanted to stay home and I'd call her the next afternoon. I called her at 2pm and she's asleep. We want to spend time together, but are on such different schedules that it makes it nearly impossible. Drives me nuts and makes me angry with her although I know in my head I have no reason to be angry- it's not her fault, it's just our lives.

I have been listening to the Russian group T.A.T.U. alot- downloaded a bunch of songs and found the lyrics online and have been trying to learn the words. Hubby has been playing his PS2 alot to keep from snacking, and it leaves me with alot of time to spend on the computer or reading or whatever. I bought the SIMS game yesterday and accidentally managed to kill my first little person- poor lady burned in a fire. Actually, on a more serious note, I knew a lady who was murdered this week. She and I crossed paths professionally. She was an alcohol counselor for a client of mine. Terrible thing that happened to her- murdered with a pan. I talked to her in a telephonic meeting the day it happened or the day before, I can't remember.

They say death comes in threes. A few weeks ago some folks from my hometown died in a car wreck. They were on their way to the airport to catch a plane to visit their son who now lives in another state. I went to elementary school all the way thru high school with him and his older sister. I feel awful for them. His parents who died ran a coffee stand not far from my parents home. I guess it was a pretty new business. My mom and I stopped for coffee once there this summer and I saw the lady there. I was a little embarrassed because (the lady) used to kinda dislike me because she thought I was a bad kid. He was a preacher at the chapel for a long time.

For a "bad kid" I don't think I turned out too rotten. Some of the churchier people at home kinda didn't care for me and my friends in high school because we drove fast on our 4 wheelers without helmets (later, it was cars) and I guess rumors flew that we drank and were a little crazy. I don't think we were too out of control. It's crazy how rumors run around small towns. People were always blabbing about kids my age, like they had nothing better to talk about than who they saw driving without a license, and who is in trouble. Get a life. Yeah, I had my fun (sly smile), but we would hear/notice things too- like the preacher and his wife had a daughter (you know preacher's daughters!) Anyhow, she became pregnant and then was out of school for a week or so and came back suddenly not pregnant anymore. Hmmmm.

Geez, it's wrong to speak ill of the dead. I'm a bad person. Guess I HAVEN'T changed. Can you tell I have alot of unfinished "issues" with my childhood? Surprisingly though, none really come from my parents. I love my hometown but I hate it too. It was an experience growing up. Half of that goddamn town had pot grow operations on their properties and they bitch at US for driving a little fast and being teens? Gimme a break.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-01-26 at 2:54 p.m.
comment