Ricky Martin?!, Paris perfume, needing summer

Got a little dusting of snow. Work is going somewhat OK, although I'm still waiting to hear when I get to have my own office. I can't believe how light it's getting- staying lighter later and later. What a relief. This summer I'd like to do what I did off and on last summer. On weekends sometimes when it was nice out, I'd drive to a lake here in town and lay in the sun. Can't wait to do that again.

My Russian class is going good. I have to laugh at myself at how seriously I take the class. I'm always right on time and sit right in the front. I have turned into the "non-traditional" (i.e. old) student that scribbles down every word that comes out of the mouth of the instructor. I used to make fun of those folks, now it's me that people are probably snickering about behind my back. One day in class the instructor would give us a name of a famous person, and we had to say, in Russian, where that person was from and what language they spoke. She used Alexander Pushkin (author), Chopin (not sure about the spelling, but composer), Vladimir Lenin, and Edgar Allen Poe for examples. One girl- 18 or so, whispered to her friend "Why doesn't she ask something that we KNOW, like Ricky Martin?" OMG. I lost all faith in the US public school system right there. Not that I'm a snob or anything, but I didn't learn much about music, art, literature, and such in high school. When I was an exchange student to Russia I had to learn what I could very quickly to avoid being thought of as ignorant.

Anyway, now on to more important topics. I'm almost out of perfume and need to pick some up. I don't wear alot of perfume. I got this bottle of Paris as a gift 10 years ago and I still have it. I've used it so sparingly because $50 for perfume when I was 18 was a huge amt. of $$ to spend. It's probably less than $50 now I'm guessing. I'd like to replace my bottle and start wearing it more often.

Well, I'm hungry, and need to debate whether or not to go home and try to scrounge some food, or take hubby's crappy car (since he took mine to work today) and pick something up. I'll probably go home.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-02-21 at 10:43 a.m.
comment