mom- why didn't you teach me better recordkeeping???????

I have a confession about myself to make. I hate anything having to do with important stuff. Hubby and I lost the ppwk we were given by the mortgage person 2 months ago. We lost the certificates from the Housing class we took. Hubby blames me- who knows if it's my fault or not.

Today I called the mortgage guy, J.D. He gives me a laundry list of things we have to get done ASAP. It was amongst the things he gave us 2 months ago that has mysteriously dissappeared. We need to:

Get new certificates, showing that we completed the class we both took on homeowning

Choose homeowner's insurance

List current, former landlord addresses, names, month we moved in, and month we moved out, landlord's name, phone #

List 3 yr. employment history- addresses, names, phone #'s

2002, 2000, & 1999 W2's (he has 2001 already)

Last 3 months bank statements from every acct. we have and also the last quarterly statements from our retirement accts.

OMG I am freaked about this. We'll never find this stuff. I keep shitty records. I don't know the name of our previous landlord and I certainly don't know his address (we rented a house for a while). I don't want to give my work info from 2000 because I left on bad terms and I can't stand the people there. I've been throwing away our retirement acct. statements because hubby read somewhere that we don't need to keep them. Lastly, (gulp), I don't think we have our W2's at all, what with the moving, etc. Just this year's, is all I think we have.

No one ever told me that you're supposed to copy your tax material before you send it off. I found this out just a few months ago. I'm 27 yrs. old. I guess I'm not totally to blame, because hubby should've had the sense to do it- he knew.

How the !@@#$%%^ am I gonna get this done?

Guess we'll just have to do a little at a time, but quickly. I'm just freaking out about it, that's all. J.D. wants it done by the end of this week. We're screwed.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-02-24 at 11:38 a.m.
comment