CI, questions about my personality and others'

OK I guess it's time for an entry. I had a bunch of things I wanted to talk about but I'm too lazy to put them in here. Maybe I will but will make it short. I gave a kid with Down Syndrome a dollar to get a soda. I was worried he wouldn't get home. He said he was waiting for a bus but there was no bus stop around. I was thinking about the differences between us- just one chromosome made him so completely different. Then I got to thinking, why is it that so many people with Down Syndrome are so friendly and cheerful? Where is that personality trait? Is it in the chromosome they have that we don't? (or do we have one that they don't, I can't remember).

Speaking of disabilities, there is a girl at the University that takes a class the same night I do. She is in a wheelchair and she looks SO familiar to me. However, I'm just too nervous/shy to say anything to her. I don't think it's the fact that she's in a wheelchair, or is it? I don't know how to bring it up, but I see her each week before we go into our own classes. One of these days I'm going to ask her where I know her from. I almost did this week but I got cold feet. I don't want her to think I'm weird, I guess.

A friend of mine is coming to AK next week and wants to see me. She's in medical school in MI. I got an IM from her last summer and she told me she was pregnant. I was the first person, besides her husband, that she told. I was excited for her, and she said she was thrilled to find out. After that I didn't hear from her for many months, and I wondered if something bad had happened. In November, my mom told me that my friend had lost the baby. Her mom had told my mom, who told me. (You know how that goes!). I want to see my friend next week, but should I pretend that nothing happened? Should I not bring it up unless she does? Should I say something about it? What do I do?

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-02-28 at 1:20 p.m.
comment