^&%&^%$( furniture/mattress people!!!!!!

AAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yesterday I said that if we didn't buy a bed I was going to scream. Ahem. Why, oh why do mattress salespeople have to be so pushy? We felt like we were buying a car last night. The same goes for furniture people, only not so much. We spent WAY too long at one furniture store, with the lady pushing us to buy the spray coat for furniture big time. We were there for so long, I began to get grumpy, looking at furniture, swatches of fabric, etc. We finally left and I'm sure we pissed her off by not buying anything because she'd put so much work into us trying to sell us something.

We went to a mattress store where the lady we've talked to before pounced on us as we walked in. She showed us around and as soon as she went to answer the phone or something the biggest Pain in the Ass salesman rushed over and wouldn't leave us alone, he was so pushy. Then, when I said hubby and I needed to talk, he went away and I could see the lady shooting looks at him/us. They were going to fight or something over who would get the sale. It felt awful and gave us a bad taste in our mouths, so to speak. We left, dissappointed. I hate pushy salespeople. Mattress salespeople are just as bad as car salespeople.

Hubby and I came home feeling kinda sad and overwhelmed. We've been shopping for furniture for so long and there's so much to consider when spending so much money. Do we get flexsteel furniture? Furniture we can cover w/slipcovers eventually? Big, overstuffed pillow furniture?

We did the math, as we do together when faced with a financial obstacle. We discovered that we need WAY more than we thought- we need to buy stuff for the entire house- bed, futon for guest bedroom, couch and chair, window treatments, table & chairs, dresser, end table, nightstands, etc. We came to this conclusion last night.

WE'RE GONNA GO CHEAP, MAN!

Yes, that's right. Screw quality, we need quantity! Mattress will be coming from a wholesaler- Costc0 or Sam's here we come! To hell with the pushy mattress people. No fancy upscale couch & chair for us, we're going to find something we like that is reasonably priced or unreasonably cheap.

You know something else that pisses me off? One entire building with 4 mattress/furniture stores is all owned by the same company we found out, and they pass themselves off as competing retailers. That's upsetting.

Ugh. So, I woke up at 5:30 this morning, and that's upsetting me as well. I can't sleep because my thoughts just won't slow down. I'll just waste time at the computer before I have to shower/get ready for work.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-03-19 at 5:59 a.m.
comment