DennieDammit gone- weird neighbor susan

My friend came and went. Her accent is so neat. Hubby says he likes the cajun accent to- not very strong or twangy. I went down to Louisiana when I was 19 after I got back from Russia. My friend paid for the visit because she had a husband who had some money back then or something. Anyway, everyone there says "Shya" for anything cute, etc. She said it several times this week. I'd forgotten about that "Shya baby..." Lots of funny stories at my 2nd bro's house last night. We ate gumbo the traditional cajun way- over whipped potato salad & white rice. Dammit- it's good!

I signed up for a 4 credit Russian class this fall- a real University class with tests and grades (!)

I bought a glider rocker. It's quite pretty. Now I need to get a hanging lamp and a table lamp, oh, and an end table- I still haven't found one I like. Part of me is so sick of hearing hubby moan about how we need an end table, but I don't want anything in my house unless I really like it- it's part of my feng shui.

I've been feeling extremely guilty that it's been so long since I went to my parents' house. They've seen me here at my house, but I need to get out there- I think I'll go Fri night and relieve my guilt. It's only a 2 hr drive anyway.

OK- I met our neighbor, Susan. Susan is a retired schoolteacher. She says she does tai chi to the trees in her yard and transfers the energy to them. Hubby got pissed when I told him that she said to me she came over after the last people moved out, and she took down the dog run. The only reason we can figure that she did that is because she doensn't want us to have a dog in the small yard closer to her house. Hubby is all mad and said that we had already bought the house when she did that- he's right. I don't want any problems, but she's odd, and I find that I don't want to work too hard to be close with her. I've never had neighbors I knew before, so this stuff is all new to me.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-04-16 at 7:14 a.m.
comment