poor friend Sophie, my crazy bro's sis, PCOS?

My friend Sophie called Fri. Her household has gotten involved with DFYS. *sigh* Her boyfriend spanked his kid & left bruises on his behind. Sophie and her kids are moving back to her home village for the summer so that she doesn't get caught up in his DFYS case plan. I'm going to miss her, but she's always such a downer. Tonight I felt bad for her, so we went to the non alcoholic dance club and sat around but didn't dance. Her boyfriend had dropped off her cell phone and she didn't have anywhere to put it and didn't want it in her pocket, etc. so she didn't want to dance, so we didn't.

I stayed last night with my mom and dad. They told me about my brother's sister Julie this AM. My #1 bro told my folks to NOT lend Julie any $$- she's in debt $3000 to the family already. Apparently, her boyfriend beats her, and they're both into coke. Lovely. My bro #1 wanted to do an "intervention" but bro #4 would ruin it because he's already said that he would loan her money if she asked for it, and already has loaned her lots of money. He says he "has to". He's such a damn enabler. Anyhow, dad was all upset and talking about how dysfunctional our family is. I disagreed, and told him that every family has problems- hubby's cousin is in prison in CT, his other cousins are deadbeats, and his aunt is a wacko- stuff occurs in every family. I think I got the message thru to dad that we aren't any different than anyone else.

I found all my slides from when I was an exchange student in Russia. I plan on having the slides developed into photos after I give a short presentation for my final in my conversational Russian class. I was given about 15 rolls of slide film before I went to Russia, so that's why all my pictures are slides. I had so many memories looking at them last night. Good and bad. When I was there I had to switch host families. My first one was where I lived for 8 months. The grandfather kept getting drunk more and more often. He would scream and swear and there was lots of fighting and it developed into a very bad situation. I'm glad I didn't stay there the whole time. The last 2 months I was in that home I was miserable- cried every day. Despite it all, I'm glad I got to learn what it is like to live with an alchoholic, because I feel it has helped me understand a bit more about what the kids I work with have gone thru- even tho I lived with an alcoholic host parent for 8 months and they've all lived with alchoholics for alot longer, I can understand some of what they feel. There's so many stories I have, so many experiences I had of being there. I don't talk about it a heck of a lot because I don't want to start alot of sentences with "When I was in Russia..." I feel like I'm bragging or something. I worry about that alot- whether or not people think I'm bragging. What a stupid thing to worry about. Perhaps that's because I "dislike those that brag" (see left).

Blah blah, me. Tuesday I'm going to the doc to see if I have polycystic ovary syndrome. My SIL in CT has it, apparently. Hubby's brother told him to be prepared for trips to see fertility experts. She has 2 kids, but has to see a fertility doc to get pregnant. I'm praying that if I have it, all I have to do is go on glucose, like my doctor said. PLEASE let it not be more than that. I look at websites on it and see all kinds of stuff that scares me- a 50% miscarriage rate, and messages on message boards that say things like "Hi all! I just got my 6th in-vitro fertilization treatment! Pray for me that it works this time!"

I'm not going to get all worked up about this- either I have it or I don't and there's no use worrying about it. Goodnite!

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-04-20 at 1:41 a.m.
comment