flashbacks from another time

GUESS who is at this foster licensing training? My old boss from when I was a social worker in the village. I always felt like when I saw her again it would be like an abused child looking at their abuser for the first time in years, and I do admit, I froze for a split second and panicked, but I kept my composure, smiled, and told her it was nice to see her again. For those of you that don't know, this woman was a micromanaging workhorse to me and everyone else. She put my life in danger more than once. I often think that had I followed her direction on one particular occasion, I would've been killed. As it was, however, I refused to do so, and just got a verbal write-up and a "talking to" when I returned, about how "dissappointed" she was. GRRR. Yes, seeing her brings up lots and lots of strong emotion. She is NOT my boss anymore, and of that, I am grateful. Oh, and I am NOT afraid of her.

Anyhow, a friend from college was visiting and we got beer last night (like we used to- only now I'm old enough!) and reminisced. It was fun- she's such a neat person. She says that my friend Shannon is most likely into cocaine, from her conversation with her before Christmas she was still working at the bar and living in that goddamn motorhome. We both wish she'd do something else- she can do so much better.

Speaking of high school friends.....the invitation to my 10 year reunion is on my fridge. I have until May 31st to return it with a check for $35 per person for the dinner. I just don't know.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-04-25 at 7:13 a.m.
comment