A big rant about work

WARNING: Complaining below:

I scheduled Tue-Fri next week off from work, and the following week too, because my in-laws will be in town. Chances are, I'll go in to work for several days next week anyway, becuase my in-laws will be busy around town sightseeing, etc. and won't need me too much. In June my coworker and I will be at a 3 week training at the University.

Yesterday my boss asked me to write down the time I had off/training coming up. I did, and even told her I'd be coming in for a few days next week, despite having personal leave (I'd just not count those as personal leave on my timesheet when the time comes to fill it out). She got all worried and kept saying "Geez, you're sure going to be gone a long time (till June 23rd). She said she wished she hadn't approved my personal leave. Pissed me off. This boss takes weeks off at a time for trainings, conferences, and personal leave. She's been gone 3 weeks at a time over and over, leaving me to muddle thru her job. Other employees of ours in the region we serve leave for an entire summer and it's ok. The boss depends on me SO MUCH that she gets worried if I take leave. I don't know if it's my fault- I made myself too dependable, if there is such a thing?

I have around 133 hours of leave, and I'm asking for around 50-60. Gimme a break. I can't take a 2 week vacation??? I've never been gone for more than 1 week before, and now with me technically "out" till June 23rd come Friday, she's freaking. It makes me feel guilty even taking time off at all. I'd like to save as much personal leave as possible, becuase it would be nice to have alot when I have a baby someday. Anyhow, I just waved my hand yesterday and kept saying things like "You'll do fine without me- it's not a big deal." secretly hoping she doesn't pressure me into feeling I have to come in every day but Wed. next week (when my in-laws, hubby and I go to visit my mom & dad). If my boss did that, I would feel so resentful.

I know life isn't fair, but I really feel like it's not fair that everyone can take time off but ME. Work is getting to me lately. We were supposed to move into bigger offices weeks ago. People came and took down the partition wall that separated myself from my coworker in the office we share. Now neither of us have any privacy, and to top it off, all my stuff has been packed for weeks (like we were told to do) so I'm sitting in an empty office with a waist-high bookcase separating our two desks. Our move has been postponed again and again.

It is frustrating and makes me unhappy even walking in that office.

Clients are getting under my skin, and I can tell I need a bit more break than the Las Vegas trip gave me (although that helped). Part of me just wants to dissappear for the next 2 weeks and not come in or call at all. Screw 'em.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-05-15 at 7:06 a.m.
comment