Geez!!!! my neice

So now there's strife in my family. My 21 yr old neice Sheri is furious because my dad (her grandfather) had the audacity to call her and ask her to talk with me before bringing additional people to our family party to be held in 2 weeks. She screamed and hung up on him. She called me all upset, crying and freaking out last night. I guess I'd better start at the beginning:

Sheri hates her father's fiancee Cindy. She gives no reason why, but hates her and calls her a bitch, etc. to her face. Sheri's parents divorced when she was little (her dad is my oldest brother). Her dad, Todd, gave her & her brother, who is now 20, everything they wanted out of guilt about his divorce. Their mom was very horrible during the divorce, and took my brother for everything. Sheri grew up disliking her own father because of listening to what her mother said.

ANYHOW, she plans this "family party" every June and her mother always shows and it's always awkward because we hate what she did to Todd. Todd won't show anymore because Sheri hates Cindy (and him, now). Sheri portrays herself as such a victim, telling everyone how her dad chose his new fiancee over his own daughter, etc.

Last year nearly no one showed up at the party because of the awkwardness, and Sheri said it would be the last one she would organize. We all were relieved. SO, I made invitations yesterday for a family party and Sheri called all worried. She went ahead and made her own invitations and was worried that nothing would be done because she wasn't doing it. I told her to let me mail mine out, played it off stating that she needed to save her postage because she's in college, etc. when the real reason was that I knew no one would show if she organized the party because they hate Sheri's mom and Sheri would invite her mom.

Why the hell would anyone want to go to a family party for their ex-husbands family? I have no clue.

Anyhow, Sheri told me in our conversation yest. afternoon that she was inviting 2 families of 4 and another couple- that's 10 additional people. I said "Oh." and after we were thru talking I called my mom and let her know. Well, mom told my dad who decided that it was his job to call Sheri and tell her she needed to ASK me if she could take 10 additional people to the party, and that it was her duty to let me know (as party organizer) who was bringing what, foodwise. Apparently she lost it completely. She hung up on her own grandfather and called me, sobbing.

Sheri was out of control, stating that she had no place in the family and that dad was ugly and awful to her. She said that dad said he wouldn't go if she brought the people, and that they had gone to the family party several years in a row (I vaguely remember a few friends of hers attending previously). Anyhow, I was shocked and reacted improperly, with anger towards my father without talking to him firs (I should've known).

When I got off the phone with Sheri and called my dad to see what the hell he talked with her about, he told me that he wasn't mad at all, and never yelled or threatned anything. Mom said he was very nice and respectful, just suggesting that MAYBE it would be a good idea, etc. for her to let me know and ask before bringing others. Mom and dad said she completely blew out of control and became a screaming mess over the phone and hung up on her own grandfather. I guess I can't get over that part, it is so disrespectful, especially towards the patriarch of the family.

Sheri's presence at family gatherings is the most stressful for the family, because of how her relationship is nonexistent with her father. I believe my mom and dad, and went to bed last night unhappy. I asked hubby what to do, and God bless him, he gave me the perfect answer: Stay out of it. That is exactly what I am going to do. SO, this morning I get this email from Sheri:

Thanks but no thanks. Please find some one else to bring my stuff and also let everyone know that no ones friends can come unlike other years because jeff might invite someone along with some one else.

Sheri

Ps: I never got to ask you what yousaid to your parents. What did you say truthfully because I know that what they said you said can be a total lie or even a lie at all.

I don't think I am going to answer this. Truthfully, I was upset with Sheri when I called my folks yest. afternoon. Dad's right- she's a control freak. I won't let her control me. Oh, the stories I have about Sheri- her dad paid child support for years when Sheri's brother (Jeff)lived with him! Sheri's father had to pay off her car because he co-signed and she refused/couldn't pay after a year or two. SHeri's mother made my brother Todd pay for her karate, aerobics and some other stupid stuff IN THE DIVORCE. He got totally shafted, poor guy.

Thoughts? Suggestions? I don't want to answer the email, but she holds big grudges and I don't feel like having her bad mouth me, truthfully. I want to stay on her good side, but then again, who really gives a shit? Everyone in the family knows how she is...

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-06-10 at 7:44 a.m.
comment