my thoughts on air travel

I'm traveling with hubby this weekend- he managaed to get people to work for him. We leave tonight and I'm calling in sick tomorrow *cough*. We come back Sunday night and I leave Monday morning for Fbx, where I'll stay till Thursday evening- whew!

I love to travel, I really do, I just hate flying (unless it's 1st class). I'm not afraid to fly, even tho I've been in planes held together with duct tape and planes that filled with smoke after an electrical malfunction. No, I'm not scared to fly even when I flew on Sept. 14, 2001.

I don't like being told what to do, when to sit, stand, go to the bathroom, what to use as a utensil (no butter knives anymore- we can't be trusted).

I've had my purse taken from me at the Anch. airport as I went thru the metal detector. Some jerk took it off the x ray machine and started to walk away. I screamed and yelled at him "Hey! Get back here! That's my purse!" People stared and he walked back and said he thought it was his wife's. He was apologetic, but I just glared at him and snatched my purse out of his hands.

Stewardesses- oh, EXCUSE ME, I mean "flight attendants", don't give a damn about customer service anymore- they're jail guards, not sky waitresses, like they should be. For security, put more air marshals on planes.

And DON'T give me that shit about arm rests and even window shades being in their "proper" place for landing- what difference does it make about a window shade?! I can see it now....."We wouldn't have crashed, but someone had their armrest up....*sigh*..."

I had one flight attendant who made me LIFT MY SHIRT so she can make sure I was wearing my seatbelt. Bitch.

Yes, this is a topic that angers me. I want to be pampered, dammit. I pay alot of $$ to fly, and even when I fly coach, I deserve to be treated with dignity, or at least, civility. I hate feeling like cattle.

But I love traveling... after I get somewhere.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-07-17 at 7:18 a.m.
comment