QAF vol II, books books, ole!

I FINALLY got the 2nd season volume 2 for Queer as Folk from Blockbuster. Now I just have to fight to find Vol. 3. They don't know how to put the movies in the right places, either.

Grumble grumble- sorry.

It's different having hubby home on Saturdays now.

I had a memory today of something I have never remembered. A flashbulb of memory, I guess, of me at my aunt & uncle's reading Archie comic books in their basement because there was nothing else there to read. I'd forgotten about that. I must've been 13 or so. There have been times, both before and after that, when I had little reading material. One of the places I used to sleep at when I was a Social Worker traveling in villages had "Island of the Blue Dolphins" I used to read each time I went there.

Another similar experience was Russia. Us exchange students would trade books in English but sometimes we would just read the same ones over and over, depending on whatever we could get our hands on. We could read books in Russian, but it wasn't too enjoyable, it was work. In Russia I read "Animal Farm" (haha- true!) over and over, and also "Pride & Prejudice". A friend of mine read Stephen King novels and would loan them to me. They weren't my favorite books by any means, but they were easy entertainment.

I remember one Stephen King book that must've been a part of a series. All I remember was that the ending had to do with a train and it was really a cliffhanger of an ending. I wish I could remember what book that was so I could read the next one. It's probably the only Stephen King book I would like to read.

I used to be into Stephen King & Dean Koontz novels more, but I think with my job being kinda a downer at times, it makes it so on my free time I like something nice and light to read instead of horror. Plus, Dean Koontz books irritate me because they all have a woman in distress and a golden retriever worked into the story.

OK, enough about books.

Hubby and I took our change in and we had almost $40.00.

Several times now, I've gotten dollar bills with that "where's george" stamp and the website on it www.wheresgeorge.com

I entered in the serial #s and it tells where the bill has been, as long as others do the same thing. I have one now with me that I plan on mailing to my in-laws in CT, because they were so enthralled with one that I accidently brought to CT when we visited.

By the way, hubby and I are applying for passports. From what we heard, we don't have to have them for Mexico, but they can make things easier.

We still don't have a place to stay in Mexico- he keeps searching and doing online "research". We have it kind of narrowed down, but no place set in stone yet. Hopefully by some time next month we can make a decision.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-08-16 at 7:27 p.m.
comment