it sucked and I feel bad for them

So my friend S*phie called and asked if her boyfriend could come to our house to do a demonstration. He's started selling vacuum cleaners. The dude is famous for losing one job after the next, so forgive me if I sound somewhat skeptical. They arrived at the house together. It was his first "run thru". It was bad. Really bad. He was using us for practice, and in my opinion, he needs alot more practice.

The poor guy was wearing a suit that was too big for him, for starters. The bottoms of his pants dragged along the ground and he kept pulling them up. The shirt was really big, with the buttoned collar hanging way down at his chest almost. He looked like a kid playing dress up. The suit was black with white pinstripe. S*phie told me they got it second hand for 25 cents. If the pants were hemmed, it wouldn't be quite so bad, but it was just disheveled and sad.

His hair had grown long, and it was slicked back into a ponytail, and he'd let his beard grow out (so he could be "Jesus" for Halloween, he told us later). It was really scruffy looking and needed a trim. Geez, I sound very critical, but he looked somewhat scary, and I'm pretty sure he won't be making many sales until he does something about his appearance. I would be afraid of him if he came knocking at my door.

Anyway, I felt sorry for him. He kept screwing up and stumbling over his words, and tripped again and again over the vacuum cleaner he was trying to sell. He had problem after problem with all the attachments and was saying things like "Shoot! I screwed up!", etc.

The one good thing was that he picked up WAY more dirt than I thought we had in this place. Eww. It was very gross- he vacuumed the bed (our NEW bed) and already there were skin cells and nasty dust mites in the filter he showed us. I couldn't believe what the vacuum pulled from our living room (new carpet, by the way). It was disgusting.

Not $1950.00 worth of disgusting though. It did good work, but I just can't bring myself to spend that much. I felt so sorry for the two of them- he was pathetic, and my poor friend believes so much in him. It makes me sad for them both. I hope he can make a go of this. This is on commission, I was told. He has to have 10 "shows" per week or he doesn't get paid. I think he gets extra if he sells a vacuum.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-09-07 at 8:34 p.m.
comment