par for the course.......

Shit. I didn't make it out. Damn bad weather. My boss and I got to the airport at 8AM. We waited. We were told to come back 3 times before we were told our 9:50 AM flight cancelled at 11:30AM due to bad weather. So, we ran upstairs and booked ourselves on the 2:30 flight, got our luggage, and re-checked it for the 2:30 flight. We waited. At 2:00 we were told to wait due to a "weather hold". It was announced at 3:20 that the flight was cancelled. I ran to a payphone and called the airlines MVP hotline and begged the lady to just get me a seat, any seat ASAP. Everyone else was calling the airlines too. For some reason, they don't do make-up flights to deal with the backlog of unhappy cancelled-out passengers.

Now I'm scheduled on Friday AM and so is my boss. That is the soonest we can get out. All the other flights are full tomorrow and Thursday. We plan on being back at the airport at 7AM tomorrow, though, to see if we can get on standby. It is our plan to do this for EVERY flight in the hopes that we can get out before Friday.

It gets me out of the office- a much needed break. I kinda don't mind, which is interesting. Me- the worrywart isn't freaking out. What a nice feeling.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-09-09 at 3:56 p.m.
comment