my aleutian trip

Yes, I made it there and back. Phew!

We ended up leaving on a Wed. instead of Tue. due to bad weather on the Aleutians. The first week was kind of shot due to that, but I got some work done. The 2nd week all I did was sell coats/T-shirts for my boss, who had migranes all week. Yippee. I went to college to sell coats. I was peeved that I couldn't participate alot in the conference, but it was OK. I read alot of my book and partied a few nights in some bars, which was fun. I won $100 in a karaoke contest and was extremely unconrollable and hyper one night. I was drinking "jolly ranchers" for the first time- doubles- and they lit me up, so to speak. I danced with the CEO that night and was running all over being loud and silly. I think I scared some people.

We saw all kinds of animals- fox, sea lions, otters, but the best was the wild horses. Someone let some horses go free about 20 years ago, and since then, other people have done the same thing off and on. The horses are tame enough to eat out of your hand, but run free throughout the island. It is very rare to come across them, but we did, which was great. All we had to feed them was lifesavers and tic tacs, but they liked them both. They're breeding- there were little ones in the group, which was neat. We counted 11 horses in all. I took TONS of pictures.

I also visited a 3000 year old excavation site. Amazing. When people inhabited the "house" I stood in, king Tut was ruling Egypt. It really puts things in perspective.

We were all set to leave on Fri, when our plane couldn't land, due to winds blowing across the runway. A group of us watched the big jet get closer and closer to the ground, then the tail would be blown by a gust, almost turning the jet sideways. It tried 3 times, then took off, leaving us behind. Oh well. I got home last night. First to arrive, last to leave.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-09-22 at 6:01 p.m.
comment