Zihua

Yes, yes! We're back, and we had a FABULOUS time!! We enjoyed it at the Villa Mexicana in Zihuatanejo. Hubby and I flew 1st class (we upgraded using mileage) round trip. It was hot, hot HOT, and muggy. The beach was GREAT! I said the hell with it and didn't worry about looking less than perfect in my swimsuit.

The 1st hotel we stayed at was RIGHT on the beach. We were there for 4 nights. We took a boat ride 2 times to different beaches around, which had no road. Everyone was so nice, so friendly. Hubby got "turista" (Montezuma's revenge) even tho we'd both been taking acidophilus tablets for weeks and didn't drink the water, or even brush our teeth with it. He was impressed with my strong stomach. (Thank you, mother Russia). We bought some stuff called "Kaomycin"- a Mexican remedy- and he felt fine the next day.

I felt great the whole time, and my only bodily complaint was that I got 2 very small heat rashes- one on the front of each thigh. They're about the size of quarters. Oh, and the sunblock made me break out because it clogged my pores, no matter how much I washed afterwards. Oh well, it was worth it. I got a wicked cool tan, and hubby got sunburnt, of course, because that's all that he gets.

The taxicabs we took from Zihuatanejo to Ixtapa were great, very cheap and fun. The food was excellen- lots of thick tortillas and yummy limes on everything. The maids made beautiful shapes, like hearts and swans, out of the towels in our hotel room each day, so each day was a surprise. I brought nail polish and lip gloss that I set out each day, along with a note that read (in Spanish) "A gift for the maid in appreciation of good service". -I got the idea from a previous Mexico traveler, whom I borrowed the translation from.

Speaking of Spanish- hubby didn't speak to anyone hardly at all, leaving me to speak for the both of us, again and again. I'd ask him how to say something (since he'd studied a little Spanish in years past) and he'd be able to tell me in private, but would "clam up" and forget his Spanish when we needed it. I, being the nerd I am, made notecards before I left with phrases I thought might be useful. Those notecards saved our asses alot. I was the one who would ask for taxicabs, would negotiate a taxi fare, would order food, haggle with street vendors, and check in and out of the hotels.

Hubby was sweet about it, and gave me compliments about how easy I can try to muddle thru a foreign language without being afraid of looking idiotic. (Again, thanks to Russia).

No worries all week. Not one. I wandered around this town or that with hubby all day, or layed out on the beach or swam in the crystal clear water. I slept like a baby each night. It was glorious.

The 2nd hotel we stayed at, you can read about here

Although it was really, REALLY elegant, it was up the street from the beach and not right on top of it, like the 1st place, so I liked the 1st place better (it has no website, but you can find out a little bit about it here

Hubby and I had $10 lobster on the beach one day- the fisherman came and sold them right off the boat, to the guy whose palapa we were sitting under.

I know this entry is super sappy, but I have to say, hubby and I are more in love than ever. It was the vacation of a lifetime.

*sigh* I have found heaven on earth.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-11-13 at 7:02 p.m.
comment