thoughts on upcoming Thanksgiving, bringing mom to MX

I started buying Christmas presents for our neices/nephews today. Alot of things I am getting from catalogs and having sent to either myself or my MIL. She has agreed to distribute my gifts so I don't have to turn around and send them to New England after I get them.

Hubby and I spent last night at my parents' house. It was a nice drive, and made my folks so happy. When I told mom that we were bringing her to Mexico next time, she almost cried. Mom spent a year in Mexico City as a teenager. She was kicked out of college in Texas (she and a friend attended a black church a few times and were discovered). Mom then went to Mexico City and lived for a year or so. I'm still not sure why she was there- last night she spoke of going to "school" there, but I didn't ask for specifics.

Anyway, mom has all kinds of fond memories of that time, and the whole time hubby and I were in Zihua, we kept saying how my mother would love it there, so she's coming with us next time.

The house is a mess. We still haven't put everything away from when we cleared out the spare bedroom to dry the carpet from the plumbing problems. It's a disaster in here. I guess that's what weekends are for. *groan*

Now it's time to put away all my summer clothes and bring out all the winter ones. Our damned Halloween pumpkin is still sitting outside the door. It looks awful.

A very good friend of my mother's has breast cancer. Cathie is a wonderful woman who has known me since I was small. I feel so bad for her- her mother died of breast cancer. I saw her today when I dragged hubby to a craft fair at the church where we were married. I told her she'd be in my prayers. Poor Cathie.

Thanksgiving is coming. Hubby has not-so-graciously offered me up as the turkey cook. We're going out to mom and dad's for the "official" feast the day after Thanksgiving (because hubby has Fridays off). Why, oh why do I have to cook the turkey? Although I'll admit I feel mildly interested in the challenge of cooking a turkey for the first time, it also scares me.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-11-15 at 7:11 p.m.
comment