last night S*phie's b-day

What a strange husband I have. I think I have him figured out and then WHOMP! He shocks the hell outta me.

Case in point. Yesterday, he and I went to my friend S*phie's 29th bday "party" at a local restaraunt.

At 5pm we were told to be there at 6. Later we got a call saying they'll be there closer to 7 or 7:30 because of some mix-up with her kids' bio dad or something. I thought for sure hubby would be peeved (I'm still puzzled as to why he wanted to go in the 1st place, seeing as how he's never shown interest in S*phie and her boyfriend before)

He didn't care that we were supposed to be there at 7:30, even though he had to be at work super early the following morning. So, we drove to the restaraunt and-of course- waited. S*phie is notoriously late. We ordered. When our food arrived they showed up, but without her 2 kids they were supposed to bring. They only had the baby. It was obvious they didn't want to talk about why the kids weren't there, and it looked like they'd been arguing.

She brought a cake that they had gotten a coupon for- free cake- at the store~ paper plates and party "hats" too. So, it was the 4 of us and S*phie's 21 year old cousin, along with the baby.

Hubby became Mr. Personality- he was laughing, joking, and very talkative. When I came back from the restroom he had a ninja turtle paper mask on his face, along with silly plastic sunglasses that Sophie bought. After I'd picked my jaw off the floor, we sang happy b-day and she blew out the candles. It was ok, but such a strange evening.

Who IS this man I married?

I continue to feel sorry for S*phie. I feel guilty about that. Hubby says I'm a good friend~I'm not so sure. The one word that best seems to describe S*phie is "pathetic". I don't mean pathetic in a mean way at all, but pathetic as the dictionary defines it:

***Arousing or capable of arousing sympathetic sadness and compassion***

It just seems like she wanders thru life going from one bad situation to the next, especially with men. This one she has now ~this guy~ is just so damn immature, but then again, who am I to pass judgement? ON the other hand, I'm her friend and I care about her well-being.

Anyhow, thank God hubby didn't ask about how the vacuum selling was going, because if her boyfriend was still into it, he probably would've said so.

I gave her a gift certificate for $25 to a local scandalous adult store. Her boyfriend gave her two birthday cards and some other stuff- I noticed the cards because they said things like "To my darling wife..." I read the front while she was holding it up, reading the inside.

I don't trust him, unfortunately.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-11-20 at 2:07 p.m.
comment