alaska book

My boss has been in Hawaii all week. She calls and expects me to feel sorry for her because it's raining there. Gee, but I have a hard time feeling bad when I am HERE in the SNOW and COLD... by myself, because we still haven't hired anyone to replace my bitch coworker that quit.

So, work is work. In other news, I bought hubby and I tickets to visit Russiagirl while she is in a nearby arctic city visiting family. So, beware Russiagirl...we're comin' up!

My biggest, most exciting event of the week was when I found the address book I thought I'd lost. Being as it is my responsibility to make sure we send out Xmas cards (or it won't get done), I panicked for days when I couldn't find the address book. It's an actual BOOK too, not on the computer or anything. I was talking to my SIL about her upcoming Pampered Chef party, and was looking for it while talking on the phone w/her I found it and started yelling out of excitement, and probably scared the *&^* outta her.

Shows everyone how thrilling my life is, doesn't it? Yippee, mbwillow found her address book, and that is the highlight of her week. Good Lord.

I'd hate to see what I would do with a major windfall- like winning a lottery or something... actually, I'd LOVE to see what I would do, because a huge pile of $$$$$ would come in handy. Hmmmmm........money...........

Actually, one thing I would love to do if I was rich would be to hire a full-time driver for my mom and dad so they don't have to drive those icy winter roads way out in B.F.E., with the darkness and moose...I worry.

Oh yeah, I'm famous! I'm in a book now. This is it. Too bad you have to buy it to see the pictures of me, and no, I'm not naked.

Actually, both pictures of me are of me as a child. One picture of me is me sitting in a traditional Athabascan birch bark baby carrier, made by one of my mom's friends in her home village. I was probably a few months old when it was taken. I was a darling little papoose. The second pic is me a few years later, standing next to my dad in my pajamas by a river. Dad is holding a HUGE king salmon up in front of him- the tail of the fish drags on the ground, and I am beside him smiling this excited, cute smile that small children get. The fish was bigger than me and outweighed me.

I can remember a lot of my childhood, much MUCH more than my hubby, actually, and he is envious and is completely astounded when I tell stories from memory. The morning with tbe big salmon I remember. We had been camping in our camper south of Anch. I was 4 or so, and mom woke me up, telling me that dad was back from fishing- apparently he'd gone by himself in the riverboat early in the AM. I jumped out of bed and ran to meet him at the river we were parked next to. Dad pulled out the biggest salmon I have ever seen (to this day) and mom snapped the picture.

I can't wait to take my kids camping and create lots of happy memories. Gee, this entry made me totally forget that I was grumpy. *sigh*

Damn, things are lookin' up!!!!!

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-12-03 at 1:59 p.m.
comment