G, what a thief...uh, I mean "chief"

So, there's this guy at work. He used to be a priest (not a Catholic one, but another denomination). Let's call him "G". G was a priest in the same town that hubby and I met/went to college in, during the same time we were there. (I knew he looked familiar when I started this job. I must've seen him around town.) Anyway, he was recently convicted of stealing tens of thousands of dollars from his parishoners, his "flock". He filtered the $$ out of a travel budget or something, I'm not sure.

After he was found out a few years ago, I heard he was stripped of his priestly duties, and moved to this town. He went to work for the same agency I work for.

He works in the employment counseling business. There were certain "issues", apparently, that were brought up in the trial, which he was never convicted of, but let's just say that his probation regulations prohibit him from being around children for years. Guess what part of his job is??? Childcare programs!

Although he arranges payment for childcare workers thru a Govt. grant, and access to the children involved isn't part of his job, it's ironic, don't ya think?

The reason I'm writing this is that he still works here and I think it's pretty sad, but then again, he's friends with the CEO (who still calls him "Father"-grrrrr).

G is supposedly wearing an ankle bracelet now, and is living in a halfway house. He got no jail time, partly because another priest spoke on his behalf at his trial.

So, G won't be at the Christmas party this afternoon. His ankle bracelet allows for him to go to work, and back "home" again.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-12-12 at 11:59 a.m.
comment