portable dvd here we come! also, no contact yet, because I' ma chicken

So I am a great, big, wimp. I got my eye exam yesterday, but was unable to put in a contact lens. I couldn't take the pressure. I had 2 folks who were supposed to be watching the front desk that were assigned temporarily to "babysit" me thru the traumatic ordeal of touching one's own eyeball. Eww. I really thought I could do it, but I just need more time. Both of them watched me and made suggestions, as I was sitting at the mirror in the doc's office. Hubby was waiting in the waiting room too, so I was even more nervous/guilty about wasting everyone's time. I KNOW I could do it if I was at home, but they won't give me the contact lens until I can show them that I can take it in and out by myself (kinda reminds me of the time I got a diaphragm, haha)

I told them I would have to come back and took off with hubby, angry at myself. I'm supposed to go back next Saturday, when they'll have someone there who can devote all their time and attention to watching my hand shake as it gets closer and closer to my eyeball. I can't help it. I'm a blinker. I was able to touch the contact to my eye, but not able to stick the damn thing on. I felt like a failure.

So hubby's finally decided to go with me to get a portable DVD player. I can't wait to bring it on trips. It will make flying SO great! The selling point for hubby was when I told him what good company I would be while flying. The poor man has put up with my bitching and complaining every time we fly- he deserves a little peace. Watching a movie while on the plane takes my mind off bossy flight attendants, being herded around like cattle, and bland,tasteless "meals". AND, since the airline we fly doesn't offer in-flight movies, this will be like a pacifier for a baby- I watch movie, I shut up.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-01-25 at 3:42 p.m.
comment