update from dr. Paula visit

Well, I went yesterday to my OBGYN.

Thankfully, I have a doctor who believes (as many do nowadays) that waiting for a third miscarriage to happen before testing can be done is cruel.

Yesterday, I was given a diagnosis of multiple miscarriages. I ended up having a blood draw to check for Lupus, clotting disorders, antiphospholipid antibodies, prolactin, thyroid stimulating hormone, and something called APTT. Not sure when I'll find out something-we'll see.

I will be getting a hysterosalpingogram, which I am nervous about, but I'll try anything to avoid another m/c and have a healthy baby. It is a test where dye is injected into your uterus & tubes to make sure they are the right size & shape. I'm told it's gonna make me crampy, and to take ibuprofen before I go. *sigh*

THEN, hopefully, after all the testing is over, hubby & I will have an answer as to if there is a problem, and if so, there are ways nowadays to fix it. I'll be taking progesterone during my next pregnancy- it can only help.

If I lose another one, then comes genetic testing of both hubby & I, and a biopsy of my uterus.

I did lots of research before I went, which was a big help. Hubby sat there scratching his head while the doctor & I talked about the tests. He's just happy he didn't have to give a sperm sample.

Each day is a little better.

I KNOW I have other stuff to write about- it's just that this is on my mind more than anything else.

We're spending Easter at my parents' house. I hope it's a quiet holiday. I've asked my mother to not call all over and invite a bunch of people- I felt kinda bad asking her to do this just for my sake, but she was really sweet about it and didn't mind at all.

I'm thinking more and more about spring, and the gardening I'd like to do. I'm too lazy this year to start plants in pots- I'd rather buy hardened plants from the greenhouse sometime in May. I'll be having company- my former exchange student from Sweden (I'll call her Paula) will be here with her boyfriend and their year old daughter. They'll be visiting for 3 weeks. Some of the time with me, some with my folks, and some just traveling I guess. She stayed with my family 11 years ago as an exchange student my last year of high school. It'll be nice to see her again.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-04-03 at 4:29 p.m.
comment