4th grade

4th Grade

The summer between 3rd and 4th grade my parents moved to the small town in which I came up with my screen name. My dad was older when I was born, so he actually retired when I was 9. He retired, and we moved to the countryside.

Going from the hippie-lovin' optional-style learning school to a public school which still had a paddle for the bad kids was an incredible shock. It was very, very hard for me to adjust. The other kids had all known each other since 1st grade, and new kids had to work extra hard to make friends. I did OK- there was another new girl that year too, and she and I became friends. I made other friends as well. The school was small. There was only one 4th grade class in the school. The other grades were the same way.

I think my teacher was tired or something, because I remember we watched alot of math videos. Mom and dad took me out of school for a month on a road trip back east (New York state) to visit my aunt & uncle. I slacked off alot on the schoolwork I was supposed to be keeping up with.

There's not too much else I remember about 4th grade.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-05-13 at 7:38 a.m.
comment