call me back, already!!

Call me back, already!!! Good grief! My S0phie friend called last week and of course, is doing still awful. Can't find a job, whine whine. She's such a downer. BUT, because I'm desperate for famale companionship, I asked her to maybe hit some yard sales with me last Sunday. She said sure, and I called her on Friday and left a message reminding her to let me know when to pick her up (she doesn't drive). Never got a call back. You snooze, you lose, sista.

THEN, my annoying much older friend from north of here called and was balling about how she "really needs a friend right now" and could she come down and stay with me for this coming weekend? I said OK and I've called & emailed twice now to ask when to expect her, and NO CALL BACK. what the ______? Grr.

On other news, my Stevie (see previous posts) is living at the local mattress-on-the-floor bigtime drunk homeless shelter. He's an adult now, and I don't work with adults. He seemed pissed at me yest. when he told me- like it's my fault I can't help him. I am so disgusted with the whole situation, this could've been avoided if everyone had just done what I told them to do for him 2+ years ago to get him into housing for mentally challenged people. Goddamit. Now his life is probably shit for good.

I do what I can do for people at work, but it is so frustrating. I love my job, but sometimes when you try so hard to help others succeed and they blow it, it feels like a personal failure. Case in point: another client (parent trying to get his kid back) called and he was thrown out of rehab for threatening another person. This dude just got out of jail for a stabbing not too long back. He has issues. Anyway, I just want to throw in the towel and say "game over!" but I can't, I have to help him try again if that's what he wants. I feel like screaming at him, but it won't do any good.

So many of my clients are addicts, and addicts can be wonderful people, but they can also lie, steal, and are master manipulators. I've been lied to so many times, mostly I know they have good intentions with their lies ("I'll be leaving for rehab on Monday", etc.) but a lie is a lie.

Gosh, I guess I'm just pissed off at clients right now. "Help me! Help me!" The question is, my friends....

What are you going to do to help yourself?

Stick a fork in me. I'm done.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-08-11 at 12:38 p.m.
comment