confession

I've thought about it, and I guess it's time I purge myself of this.

I have a dirty little secret I don't share with anyone.


I have OCD tendencies. No, I don't wash my hands furiously every 20 minutes, nor do I switch the lights on and off a certain amt. of times every time I enter or leave a room. I like some things done in a certain way and if they're not done that way, it greatly upsets me.

Let's start at the grocery store. Hubby starts shopping at the produce. WHY?! The produce should be LAST so it doesn't get squished by the canned goods! That bugs me, but I keep my mouth shut. It's when we get to the checkout line that he has given up helping me and lets me do it my own way.

Um, I don't know if everyone does this or not, but I separate the items as I put them on the conveyor belt to go to the checker. I put the heavy items first, followed by the lighter ones, grouping the cold items together, etc.


Nothing bugs me more than if a hot item (like grocery store chinese food, etc.) gets put in a shopping bag with a cold item. Yesterday, the grocery bagger put my HOT lasagna in with cold salad. I noticed it as I picked up the bags to leave and I actually hurried out to the car so I could switch it out of there. OMG, what if my salad became lukewarm and yucky?!

When I was 12 or so, a friend of mine told me while in a car, I should uncross my legs/feet before ever going over a railroad track or a bridge, because not doing it is bad luck. I am ashamed to say that I do it to this day.

Yes, this is the first I've mentioned of these things. I am a neurotic freak who needs meds, I know. I get extremely bothered if I drift off to sleep with crossed legs or feet while riding in a car, and wake up when I hear the bump of us going over a railroad track. I curse and get mad at myself, then worry about what kind of horrible event awaits me.


I am hoping that with this confession, I can overcome my odd tendencies. Pray for me.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-11-19 at 9:49 a.m.
comment