daddy's girl forever and ever

My nephew (19 years old) drew my dad's name for Christmas. He's making dad a memory book. (Yes, my nephew is gay- lol!). He asked us to send in a picture of ourselves and write a story to go along with it. I kinda went a different route with what I wrote.

I'm a real daddy's girl, and I know it. Lots of what is written below for the memory book is inside humor/things that only dad & I get. Anyway, here it is:

Some of what I am most looking forward to about being a mom is passing on knowledge to my child. I want my son to be able to know the difference between an inky cap and a shaggy mane, and to be sure not to eat the amanita muscaria, to be able to tell a bohemian waxwing from a pine grosbeak, to change the oil in a four wheeler and tie a square knot, to know the importance of great radio figures in history, like Burns & Allen and The Great Gildersleeve, to enjoy the pleasure of apples in popcorn, to differentiate river otter tracks in the snow from the other species of wildlife, to know who the Hugenots were and what makes them important, to respect nature and know the meaning of �ku de gra�, to realize that �when we all work together the work is fun, and before you know it the work is done.�

I want him to know the value in treating others fairly, to stick up for the �little guy�, to be an individual, and to cherish the time we spend together as a family because life is short. My child should realize and be proud of earning an honest wage but to be sure to make time for play. And when I wrap him in a blanket for the first time, taking him outside at night to show him the stars and point out constellations, I will tell him �This is what my dad used to do for me. He taught me so much.�


Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-12-24 at 2:38 p.m.
comment