tsunami? tsunamYOU!

Well, hubby got an email from his friend who was vacationing in Thailand. He was in an area unaffected by the tsunami. He is going to stay the length of his vacation there and then return to China to his teaching job.

In 1994 I had just started my freshman year of college in Sitk@ (island community in southeast AK). One day I remember a siren going off and someone burst into class and said an earthquake had just hit Japan and there was believed to be a tsunami heading our way. We were asked to go to higher ground.

To be honest, I was happy because I was in the middle of an Algebra exam, and was more than glad to get out of finishing it. I went to my dorm to get a few things and began walking with groups of students to the high school, which was at the top of a large hill and had been declared a "safe zone". It was kinda boring staying there most of the day. Later, I found out that my future husband had found a ride to a mountaintop, where he and his buddies drank beer and awaited what was to come.

The water level only rose 2 or 3 inches. We were sent back to campus that afternoon.

And that was my only tsunami experience.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-12-29 at 8:26 a.m.
comment