Shannon update

Well, it snowed. It snowed a foot at my parent's house, but only a dusting here. It's gone now, and we need to get the studded tires off the car.

Toilet overflowed today. It went all over the floor while I was home with the baby and I panicked. Got it stopped when I shut off the washing machine. I called R0t0 R00ter and they came by $165 later I'm told there is a huge hole in a pipe underground from our house. We have to go into the crawlspace with shovels and dig the pipe out of the gravel until we find the hole, then saw off the pipe above and below the hole and replace it.

Um, too much of a job for us, so we'll be calling someone for help. More $$ down the drain, HAHAHAHAHA!!

Until then, we're safe to use the water, we just need to get it fixed soon.

My gyno wants to give me an IUD. She answered all my questions and relieved a few of my fears. I might go ahead and go for it. It's a new one without copper and you can read about it here. The doc asked what kind of birth control I wanted and I responded with "Anything that won't make me fat."

Guess who called?! She did! I pick up the phone and say "hello", and I hear "You little shit! You have the same number!" Um, yeah, I don't move every few months like you do. So, she called to basically let me know how responsible (cough!) she is now that she is a mom. She works ONE day a week and lives in low income housing next to her cousin. She told me she is also taking care of a wheelchair bound woman for some cash under the table. ("wiping her ass", is what I was told, actually- how sweet.)

She told me all about her DUI and how the city is just asking for too much money, it's all a scam, blah blah. She got the DUI on Dec. 23rd and spent Christmas in jail (snicker!) Now her license is suspended and she's got a ton of fines.

I told her very little about me, just that we're still working in the same places, we'd bought a house, and that the baby is doing well.

She wanted to send baby clothes. I let her send them even though I don't need any. I feel sorry for her, I guess. Isn't she TIRED of being poor? Couldn't she go out and use the degree she earned with four years of college? Whatever.

She said one thing that bugged me more than anything else. She was gushing about how great it was being a mom, and said she "needed to learn some lessons the hard way", meaning that she kept this baby because she needed to grow up.

So, now I wait for a package of baby clothes I don't need. I can always give them away to goodw!ll.

We were so close at one time. I feel badly about how things have turned out. As she said previously "We've gone down two seperate paths."

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-04-23 at 9:13 p.m.
comment