family and elderly women in PA and NY

We had a nice time in CT. Mom and dad went with us and had their own seperate vacation in upstate NY. My little boy was baptised, and my parents participated more than I had thought they would, which surprised me and made me feel good.

I love my husband's family. They are always together and do so much more together than my family does. My family only gets together a couple of times a year.

I love hubby's grandmother- she's 83 and a kick-in-the-pants! Neat woman. We drove her home to her tiny town in PA next to the nuclear plant. She & her late husband bought the house in 1938. It used to belong to gypsies. Grammy and her husband fixed up the house and had running water installed. Her kids were born in the living room and circumcized in the kitchen (the boys, of course). Her husband died in the back room many years later. She told story after story about the house, and it just made it seem so amazing. So much life in that house.

We stayed the night there. Grammy loved the baby so much. She held him for hours. It was sad to leave her, as we probably won't be seeing her again. She has brittle di@betes, and isn't in the best health. Her daughter is trying to get her to move to DE with her, but grammy refuses to leave. I took a lovely picture of her in front of the house before we left.


My aunt in upstate NY was in the hospital for a couple of days. It was nice that my parents were there to help take care of the house, cat, etc. while she recovered. She had an irregular heartbeat, but things are better now and she's at home again.

Hubby and I drove to the hospital and walked to her first floor window, held the baby up so she could see him, and talked thru the screen. The baby wasn't allowed in, but she got to see him anyway. Dad had a great time but tells mom he is done traveling now for the rest of his life.

Lots of emotional moments during the trip- saying goodbye to several sweet old ladies that we care about alot. I'm not sure we'll see them again. Puts me to tears just thinking about it.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-05-20 at 7:08 p.m.
comment