summer lovin'

Mom won't be having her surgery right after her testing in Sept- they're going to schedule her surgery for sometime after that this fall or winter. I still don't know if she'll be a good candidate for the surgery- she's 62 years old, so I wonder.

It's so pretty out today- what am I doing indoors?! My garden/greenhouse/yard is not as good as I'd like it to be this year, but I guess this was a hard summer to spend alot of time outdoors, what with the new family member here and all.

What time I AM finding to be outdoors I'm having to fight the hell outta the aphids in the greenhouse. I've NEVER had this hard of a time before- I've never even had aphids in the greenhouse before, but now...I've declared war on them and I'm happy to say that I'm winning.

I wrote that entry about Daniel and now he hasn't been by since- I wonder if his parents had a talk with him or something. They've been really low-key.

I grew up in a house with neighbors that couldn't be seen thru the trees. My parents' house was rural- very rural. I miss that, and it was hard for me to come to terms with living a suburban lifestyle, but the large yard I have helps. When I was growing up, on hot days I'd climb the ladder to the roof and sunbathe topless up there. I'd walk to the pond barefoot and catch frogs, then let them go. I'd wash the car just for something to do. I'd play hopscotch day after day in the garage. (these were all things I'd do at different ages, of course)

Someday I hope to leave this city and high-tail it to the countryside. Just as soon as the opportunity arises.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-08-07 at 11:47 a.m.
comment