trying again to get skinny

At work for fun, we were asked to bring in photos (preferably embarassing) of ourselves to share. While looking thru a pile of photographs I found one that I can't get out of my mind.

It was a picture taken of me in 1994, just after I'd gotten back from Russia. My friend in Louisian@ had bought me a ticket to see her (she had a husband at the time with some $$). I had only been back from Russia for a few days, so I welcomed the trip as a way to help acclimate back to American lifestyle after being away for a year.

Anyway, I was nineteen years old, and a size 10 or so. In the picture, I'm holding my friend's baby and smiling at the camera. It isn't the clearest photo, but it is by far the BEST picture I have seen of myself in a long, long time. I hardly recognized myself. I was skinny, wearing "daisy duke" shorts, and a cute, tight fitting halter top.

The image is burned in my brain. I don't remember the photo being taken, nor do I remember ever more than glancing at it. I look beautiful. Tan, with golden blonde hair, flawless skin, and THIN.

I want that. I want to be that way again. I know I can't get my youth back, but I CAN get my size back.

I haven't felt this way about my weight for a long time- I've been preoccupied with pregnancy(ies), my son, and my weight has been on the back burner.

Therefore, I am making a renewed effort to eat healthy, eat less, and exercise more. I owe it to myself.

That picture. It's ME. I just can't stop thinking about it. I wish I had a scanner- I'd show it to the world.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-09-14 at 5:33 p.m.
comment