Radar

I was asked the following question:

What was your very first pet and how old were you when you got it? Did it have any weird quirks?

My parents had two cats from before I was born. The pet that I begged for and ended up getting was a dog, Radar.


Radar came from my brother, who was her veterinarian. When I was about 8 years old and they were sick of my whining for a dog, my parents finally broke down and asked my brother to keep an eye out for a good dog for the family. Radar was found as a tiny puppy by her previous owner in the middle of a busy street in Anchorage at night time. The previous owner had her spayed but couldn't care for her- I think her apt. wouldn't allow dogs. My brother spayed her and called my folks re: the dog. I named her Radar.

She was a large dog- I was told she looked half black lab and half Newfoundland. She loved the water and she loved to eat. She was a bottomless pit who would eat till she puked and then eat some more. Bless her soul. Yeah, she was a little fat.

We took Radar camping, to our cabin, hunting, etc. Since dad had an airboat and she couldn't wear earphones, to protect her ears we wrapped an @ce bandage around her head. She knew to keep it on while she was in the boat.

We had many, many years with Radar. People who didn't like dogs liked our dog.

She died while I was away as an exchange student. In mom's letter, she said Radar just layed down underneath a tree in their front yard and didn't wake up. Radar was special.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2006-01-30 at 1:54 p.m.
comment