what do you want, talking with me?

On Sat. a friend & I were at a chain coffee shop enjoying beverages when two guys around our age, or maybe slightly older came in. They ordered and one of them turned to us and said "How are you ladies doing tonight?" I quickly glanced at him and then glanced away, & said that we were "fine, thanks". My friend acknowledged him just as quickly.

The very first thing that came into my head was "What does HE want?"

Why does it have to be that way? Why can't one person just inquire about another person to be nice, without being seen as having ulterior motives? It's a sad thing in our society.

Women (me included) are immediately distrustful of men who speak to them in public like that. I wonder, I really wonder if he had some sort of stupid bet going with his friend (ah, the low self-esteem rears its ugly head again), or maybe he was high, or maybe, just MAYBE friendliness was in his nature.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2006-06-05 at 3:00 p.m.
comment