trip with the in-laws

Yes, I'm back and the in-laws are gone, so life can return to normal. We rented a minivan last week and drove last Monday to Beaver Creek, Yukon Territory, where we stayed the 1st night. My father in-law (FIL) was bummed that there was no TV. They bitched that whole 1st day's drive because it was the farthest, and they were tired, not used to being in the car for so long, etc. It was like having two 3 year olds with us. "TWENTY MORE MILES??!!!", etc.

We ate at "Buckshot Betty's" in Beaver Creek, and continued on the way to Whitehorse. Got there in the afternoon.

We stayed at a different hotel than where hubby and I stayed last year. This one was a suite. MIL and FIL saw one of those touristy gold rush shows, because that's all FIL wants to do- see shows, and sit and watch TV. He has bad knees and can't walk much. MIL and hubby and I went shopping some. Actually, I shopped alot and bought 4 or 5 shirts and 2 new pants because prices were CHEAP. Oh, and I bought my pear cider *sigh*. Bliss....

The next day we drove back into AK to Skagway. MIL spends her whole life afraid, I swear. She is scared of escalators, new foods, and especially curvy roads with or without guardrails. She sat in the way back of the van the whole trip so she wouldn't be able to see, on purpose. She gripped my seat and was scared the whole drive. The landscape along that drive was my favorite. It's a weird moon-rock kind of place that doesn't look like earth. It's strange and pretty cool.

MIL loved Skagway, and we all went to see the "Days of '98 show" where hubby was picked on by a can can dancer- she put his hand on her hip and flirted with him as part of the show. MIL was brought on stage and did the can can, after being thouroughly embarassed by the dancers begging her to come on stage. I sat back and watched- it was fun. Oh- I stumped the Robert Service poem reciter that performed before the show. I asked him to recite "The Ballad of Hard-Luck Henry" and he couldn't. (I know it by heart). He said it was one of a few he hadn't memorized yet. He did "Bessie's Boil" instead, after I asked :-) Yes, I'm a nerd who enjoys memorization.

We stayed at the Westmark, which was almost empty and they still asked us to check out at their time of 10AM. Geez, that's early.

MIL loved Skagway, once we got her there. They did the 3 hour white pass rail tour and hubby and I got some much needed alone time. Mostly we stayed in seperate rooms (in-laws and us), so that helped. LOTS of shopping to do in Skagway- so MIL was thrilled.

The ferry was late the next day, and the in-laws were aghast- they wondered how could we not put up a fuss, etc.? We told them that they it's of no use complaining to the ferry folks. They're so used to having everything "just so", and are uptight.

After waiting 2 extra hours, we left on the one hour ferry ride (with the van) to Haines. I hate Haines. I always have. People there seem to stare at strangers. MIL and FIL were wandering around asking about a place to get gas and a meal, and the townspeople either didn't know, or didn't want to tell them. We ended up finding them on our own.

My FIL is completely helpless. MIL dresses him, puts food in front of him, makes all decisions, etc. At my house and his, he eats and gets up and leaves

and watches TV, and she cleans up after him. It's pathetic.

We left Haines that night and I felt better :-) We drove to Haines Junction, Yukon Territory and stayed the night in cabins. The owner forgot that we were coming, and wasn't home, so we knocked on the door and woke up her elderly mother who gave us the keys. Each cabin had only cold water (gasp!) and you had to go outside to the house to use a bathroom in the basement. Hubby and I loved the cabins- very homey and neat.

Drove to Tok the next day and I avoided my cousins in the restaraunt that worked there (they didn't see me). I was afraid I'd catch hell for not stopping by their house. I tried to find my grandmother's grave, but couldn't. I guess there is no headstone?

The last night was in Tok and we drove home Saturday from there. Whew. They left last night. Double whew. I love them and they paid for everything on the trip, which was great, but I'm glad our lives are back to normal again.

All in all I had a good time, despite my bitching above. We saw more wildlife than I have seen in a long time- moose (of course), caribou, dall sheep, a DEER (near Haines Junction), and black bears not once, but twice. Gotta go to my 1st day at the 3 week training- yay! Don't have to go to the office! Can't read updates till later :-(

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-06-02 at 7:16 a.m.
comment