LOT to say, family party, Sheri update, R@d@ct ending

Seems like forever since I updated. On Thursday, the last day of my 3 week course, the lady I spoke of in my previous entry (from Juneau) showed me a picture of a group of us showing our fake tattoos that we got. I said "That's sweet". To which she replied "It isn't SWEET. That's the wrong adjective." I knew at that moment that it wasn't me who had the problem, it was her. I lost my smile, looked her dead in the eyes and said "I think it's sweet." She backed down. Damn her, but no one is going to tell me how to describe something, thank you very much. Ha HA! I feel powerful!

Anyhoo, during that day my coworker who also was attending the training came in all teary. She was quiet all afternoon and I'd noticed she'd been upset since lunchtime, when I saw her on the payphone. She didn't show for our ceremony Thursday night, when we got the certificates of completion.

Friday she came to work and was sobbing all morning in various people's offices, telling them what was going on behind closed doors. I overheard her on the phone Friday as I was moving from the office we shared to a new office. She was talking about someone driving by her house and threatening her. I got nosy and asked the assistant if she knew what was up. Apparently, my coworker borrowed $800.00 from a friend (a former coworker) and hasn't paid her back. Ouch. Things are better for her now, I guess, she was all happy in the afternoon, so I guess she got things worked out.

Too bad she didn't help us move our files around. She moved into her new office (we each got a new office and the boss took our old one) and she just sat there, as the rest of us moved books, files, etc. that belong to our program. The boss is out next week, meaning I'm the boss, and I'll be damned if I let her sit on her ass while we organize the new file room. Not on my watch :-)

So much has happened. Let's see. The family party was Sat. and Sheri, my bitchy, crazy neice did not show. Her brother did, however, which made us all very happy. He said his sister was immature, and that she'll "rejoin" the family once she grows up some. Funny, he's younger than she is, and such a better person.

So, I ran a boat around a lake but didn't ask enough questions about how to put the motor into neutral, how to lift the motor, etc. so it was quite a comedy- myself, a sister in law, and another young female family member in the boat adrift on the water, trying not to drag the prop along the lake bottom bringing it in, shouting to my nephews for help with instructions on which lever brings up the motor. Turns out you had to push various buttons and lift one or two levers to bring up the motor so it wouldn't drag bottom. We had fun while we were out there, though. Just us girls in the boat with me in control (scary, huh?) racing around the lake. It was fun, all in all, and now I want a boat.

We all (except Sheri, of course) went to my parents' Sat. night after the family party and they stayed till 10:30 ish. Mom, dad, and I slept at the house, and everyone else went to a forest service cabin nearby that they had rented.

My brother #4 told me today when he came back to mom & dad's that Sheri had been at the cabin waiting for everyone to get back last night. She was just a couple miles from us, but refused to come by. She's still mad at dad (and maybe me, I'm not sure). Dad composed another very nice email to her and if she doesn't make amends, he says he's done trying. He suggested I email her too. I'm not sure what to say, but I'll try.

Get this, Sheri hasn't spoken to her father (my bro #1) in over one year because he paid off her car (he was the co-signer and she quit making payments) and he asked her to pay her own insurance from then on. I just don't get it. My bro #1 actually apologized to our father for HAVING SHERI. Wow, can you believe that. My God.

My goodness I had alot to say. Hubby and I have several days off in the middle of July. I plan on taking a sick day (tee hee!). We may take one of several road trips around the state- we're still not sure.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-06-22 at 5:20 p.m.
comment