grade 9

Grade 9:

In 9th grade I had my first "boyfriend", and although I remained a virgin throughout the school year, we messed around a bit- so that was memorable I guess. The boyfriend only lasted about a month or so, and then he dumped me for some reason and I got all sad for a while, but soon bounced back, as highschoolers have a tendency of doing.

Since I went to a Jr/Sr High, we Freshmen were not the youngest in the school, so things weren't so bad for us.

I remember coming back to school the first day of 9th grade and seeing how the boys had all significantly changed over the summer. All their adams apples were bulging out, they were taller, more muscular, and they're voices had all changed. OMG it was lovely for us young girls. Finally, the boys hit puberty too. All that crazy teen awkwardness still around a bit, like the time a kid named Chad accidentally elbowed me in the boob. Our lockers were next to one another (always were- alphabetical, you know). Anyway, he got all embarrassed, and so did I...it was sweet.

I remember struggling with Algebra, and of course, P.E. In my school district, highschoolers were only required to take P.E. for one year. I was smart and didn't put it off, I got it over with in 9th grade.

I can't remember if I was in 8th or 9th grade, but in P.E. we went cross country skiing one winter day. My friend and I got separated from the group and lost. We wandered the woods on our skis for several hours, and I really think we were hypothermic when we finally found our way back to the school.

Thankfully, we were not known for being troublemakers, so our story of getting lost was taken by school staff as truthful.

Another thing I remember about P.E. was flag football. Because it required physical activity, I detested it. Our extremely masculine, female P.E. teacher (SO stereotypical), made each of us in class take our turn as quarterbacks. I remember having the ball hiked to me when I yelled "hut one, hut two, FOOTBALL SUCKS!" That was the extent of my rebellion that year.

Oh, and in P.E. when my friend and I figured out (duh) that the teacher couldn't possibly keep track of all of us in the class, and we started sneaking away from P.E. and hiding out in the outdoor ice rink, behind the wall.

The song "Don't worry, be happy" was popular- it used to be on the radio all the time.

I did my first experimenting with some light drugs during 9th grade. Never got in trouble for it, and somehow my friend (the same one who would sneak out of P.E. with me) had a steady supply of pot and a variety of what was called back then "uppers" and "downers".

I took the required Biology class, where we dissected fetal pigs, perchs (fish), ummm....can't remember what else. I didn't mind dissections- I'll talk more about them when I get to my 12th grade experience....guess what I dissected then, hehe.

9th grade was a year for maturation and growth, pushing the boundaries, and experimentation.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2004-06-15 at 6:27 p.m.
comment