epilepsy surgery

My mother is having brain surgery.

How dramatic was that?

She's decided to get evaluated in Se@ttle for a surgery that may cure her of epilepsy. It involves the patient being awake the whole time and the doctors stimulating parts of the brain and asking the patient questions to determine where in the brain the seizures are coming from. Then they do something to that part of the brain- they might even CUT IT OUT.

I know very little about the procedure. I'm going to need to do some research.

My feelings are cautious and guarded. When she had her g@stric bypass she almost died, so I'm pretty nervous about another surgery. Mom's epilepsy doesn't really effect her day to day living, because she has the seizures mostly at night. However, she says that they are bad enough that she wants the surgery.


Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-07-22 at 8:17 a.m.
comment