Daniel

I have been waiting and wondering how to write this entry. I guess I'll just get to the point. There is a new person in my life and his name is Daniel.

He is four years old.


Daniel is a new neighbor kid. When they first moved in I thought he was cute- the little fat kid across the street who would ride his bike around without his shirt (and sometimes his pants) on. Funny little kid. This went on for several weeks. I would see the other kids outside playing sometimes, but not as often as Daniel. There are so many kids in that house that I couldn't keep track (I still can't).

Daniel. His sister and brother came over about 3 weeks ago and knocked on the door- their ball had gone into my tree. I retrieved it for them using a broom. Daniel started coming by more and more often, and hubby said that he and his brothers, sisters, and cousins (who all live in the house) can play in our driveway. Our driveway has a hill that they like to play on.

Now, I can't get rid of Daniel. As soon as I pull into the driveway, tired after a full day of work, Daniel is at my car door asking to see the baby, the inside of our house, the yard, etc. He has started showing up at our LIVING ROOM WINDOW and talking to us through the screen as we eat dinner. Ugh. Yesterday I came home from a business trip and Daniel was there to greet me. Hubby had told him the day before that they can play in our yard. I put my foot down and said no, they can only play in our driveway.


My yard has a golden glow plant that was transplanted from my great grandmother's farmland. It came from her original golden glow. I love it dearly and would cry if something happened to it. Additionally, we have vegetables growing and I don't want anything happening to them. Hubby doesn't understand my being upset- he says he thinks it's fine if they play in our yard. When he was growing up all the kids hung out all over the neighborhood. I say NO, my yard is my haven, my sanctuary where I garden and "putter", and lately, I don't even want to step outside, because when I do, Daniel and his brothers/sister/cousins are always there following me and asking questions.

Daniel is always filthy and wants to see the baby. When I show him my son, Daniel always reaches in to touch his face and I have to remind him to please not touch the baby's face.

Granted, he & his siblings take direction well and will go away if we ask them to, but it's just getting to be too much. Hubby doesn't like Daniel showing up at our living room window all the time, but the rest of it he doesn't mind. I'm talking 4-5 times a night Daniel is there, asking us what we're doing, what's that for, where is the baby, can I see him, etc.


AAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGHHHHHHHH.


My mom came by a while back and she said as she pulled into the driveway, Daniel was peering into her car window asking her who she was and why she was here. We've met the dad- the mom I've never even seen. Dad says to send them home if they bug us. Hubby says "no, it's OK", etc. I'm making a new rule that they can play in the driveway and that's it. No touching anything that belongs to us (they've already messed with my wind chime, hose, etc.) I don't want him at the living room window, in our yard, greenhouse or anywhere else.

I can't take it anymore. I'm being driven insane. No solutions, please, just let me vent- that's all I need.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-07-28 at 10:40 a.m.
comment