MOnday with the neices/child care!

GAH!

The week crawls on... Yesterday my eight year old neice wet the bed. The spare bed in our house.

I went to work and it was a crazy busy day filled with bad news about alcoholic clients falling off the wagon, adoptions disrupting, and me possibly testifying in court for the first time in my life regarding a horrible, horrible child abuse case.

My husband was home with our baby and my two neices all morning. They went to my brother's house, where I met them at my lunch hour. As I pull in the driveway, I notice that their dog had gotten into the trash outside and had flung it all over the yard. So, I spent my lunch hour picking up trash, and forcing my neices to help. It's their damn dog, anyway.

I came back to work & called the child care provider I was set to interview that evening. She told me the apartment she was looking to rent to move her business into had fallen thru & she was now looking for a place across town from me. I almost cried. I had gotten such a good feeling about her each time we'd spoken on the phone- I kinda figured it would "click", and she would be the one I could trust my son with. She urged me to keep the interview anyway, so I did.

After work, hubby, baby, & I went to the interview after leaving my mother (who'd come into town) with the girls. The lady wasn't at her house- she was signing papers to rent a duplex JUST DOWN THE STREET FROM ME where her child care was moving! She came by shortly thereafter. Hubby really liked her and so did I. She said her other parents would drive across town to keep their kids with her, but she knew I wouldn't since I hadn't had baby with her yet, so she purposefully found a place nearby my home.

She has 5 kids of her own and is of Hispanic descent. She speaks Spanish to the child care kids, as well as English (a fact hubby really likes). Best of all, she gives me a good vibe. Her mother helps out & is working on getting her child care license as well so she can be an official employee. It would be her and her mother and a total of eight kids only- including before school and after school kids. Three babies at one time only. She's legit, capable, loving, and trustworthy. Her kids would stay at home with her husband, who works alternate hours from her.

Hubby wants me to look at the child care center very close by our house, just to see if it is an option now or in the future, but we both agree that we're going to give Marcy (not her real name) a trial run with the baby.

Continuing on about my day yesterday~ I come back from the interview all jazzed & stuff, and help my mom corral the girls to their beds (they're sleeping at their own house & mom is staying there too).

The damn cat went missing. There were tears, especially from the eight year old, escalating into sobs. We promised them we would search the house. No one had let the cat out that day so we knew she was inside. We put out wet cat food, which she really likes, I guess. After cleaning up the wet cat food and putting out another bowl (that damn dog got into it and spilled it all over the floor), I left at 9:15PM with the girls in bed. My older neice was still very upset and crying.


"I WANT TINK (gasp!) ER (gasp!) BELL!"

Mom called at 10PM and said that the cat had come out of hiding after we'd left. So, all's well.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-08-23 at 9:17 a.m.
comment