"my" kids

Had a great day with one of my teenage boy clients. I feel so sorry for the kid. I spent $$ on him- we went to Pizza Hut and then to an appt. to help him find a job, and later I took him to an arcade :-)

He hasn't done anything, doesn't have much of a chance to make anything of himself. He's great company and I feel like his big sister. He told me once that he wishes I was his mom. These kids I work with have had crappy lives and I just want to make their day a little better when I come by to visit, play games with them, etc. I love working with these kids and I feel very protective over them. I can't even imagine what it'll be like when I have kids of my own. Maybe abused & neglected kids is my "niche", so to speak, and for some reason, I feel extremely comfortable working with the Native kids- that may be because that's all I have experience with. May they always be taken care of in the right way...

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2002-02-05 at 5:35PM
comment