wind wind wind wind crazy wind

Last night I skipped Russian class @ the University, and boy am I glad I did. The wind really picked up, to say the least. At 8:15 or so I was washing my face and hubby and I heard a "pop!" and the lights went out. We lit a few candles (I'd packed our oil lamp already for the move) and we watched out the window for about an hour. It was amazing. Stuff flying down the street. The cops were all over, the fire department came after we heard glass breaking. The firetruck parked in front of my workplace, then across the street from my workplace (we live right near my office). We watched the light poles wobble and stuff break off of buildings. We watched debris fly down the street at eye level. We stuffed clothes under the patio door and put the couch in front of that door as well- it was flying open and even after it was secured, air would creep around the door and make a horrifying moaning sound. Hubby and I just stood watching out the window with our arms around each other, taking it all in. Since the electricity was out, the stoplight nearby was out as well, and we saw people breeze right thru it without even realizing there was a stoplight there. Even a cop car did it- slammed on his brakes right before the light that he couldn't see, evidently. Hubby kept putting his hands in the corner of our picture windows, saying that the seal was bad, and scaring the hell outta me.

Because the electricity was out, that meant that the heat was out as well. We dressed very warmly and snuggled in bed with winter hats and sweatsuits on. I was pretty cold most of the night, but it was crazy, just listening to the noise from the wind. I woke up at 4:30 AM and saw that the lights were on- we'd tried to shut off as many as we could remember we had on, but I guess we didn't get them all. I got up and turned off the rest of the lights and went to bed. Thank God hubby and I had found our travel alarm clock last night or I would've slept in and been late to work. The alarm went off at 7:00 and I froze my @ss off- got dressed in the bathroom after taking the hottest shower of my life. I walked to work and it's cold here too. 2 windows blew out of the apt. building across from work- there is debris all over the road- shingles flapping in the breeze from across the street. My friend said she drove by the welfare office on her way to work and the whole roof was in the parking lot of the nearby gas station. Unbelievable. Today is hubby's day off, and he's home trying to stay warm. I'm at work trying to do the same thing. I got a plug in heater here that's running full blast and I've been wearing gloves all morning. I can't get my hands to warm up. Anyhow, I've written a novel here. It's supposed to be just as bad, if not worse, tonight. Oh boy.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-03-13 at 9:34 a.m.
comment