my interview... thank you ladyloo

OK- Hope I don't screw this up. Here's my interview and my necessary posting: whoever wants to be next, let me know.

(The RULES): 1 -- Leave a comment in the guestbook or notes if you want to be interviewed. 2 -- I will respond; I'll ask you five questions. 3 -- You'll update your journal with my five questions, and your five answers. 4 -- You'll include this explanation. 5 -- You'll ask other people five questions when they want to be interviewed. Here are my questions: 1) As a born and bred Alaskan, do you see yourself ever leaving the State?

I have left the state quite a few times on vacation only. The one time I lived outside of Alaska was in 1993 when I was an exchange student for a year in St. Petersburg, Russia. Realistically, I don't see myself leaving the state until far in the future, if then. I would live somewhere else for a while perhaps, like if we chose to pursue a Masters' degree somewhere. We've bought a house and for the first time in many years I feel settled.

2) What made you decide to go into social work?

Haha. I entered college with the idea that I would be going for a degree in Natural Resource Management. I took one Forestry class- surveying and mapping- and it got me thinking. I hated the idea of all that math I would need- actually, I knew I'd never make it- I have always had a big problem with math- so much so that I was in special education classes in elementary school for math. Anyhow, I shifted my interest to a new major in Liberal Arts with an emphasis in Human Services, partly because a Liberal Arts degree is so versatile (would you like fries with that?) and also because my boyfriend (now my husband) was there and I didn't want to switch schools and move away. I am happy with my choice, and I only had to take up thru Intermediate Algebra. I tell people I am a Liberal Artist.

3) Was this your dream job?

No, my dream job pays a lot more. This IS one of the best jobs I've ever had, however, because I feel confident with what I do and I know I produce good work. Also, I work for an employer that is very supportive. I had a very, VERY bad time at my last 2 jobs, so I appreciate my current job so much.

4) How did your husband propose?

Well, I found out after the fact that he WAS going to propose at the movies, but I spoiled it by complaining that I was tired and wanted to go home (we were visiting my parents at the time for Christmas). The next evening he and I were in my parents' hot tub, naked, of course, and he pulled a ring from behind the hot tub and said something about us being together forever, I don't remember exactly because I was so excited/surprised. I said yes.

5) What is your favorite part of Alaska?

My favorite part of Alaska is being with people I love (family, etc.) especially in an outdoor setting. I guess I could enjoy the outdoors no matter where I live, but having my family/friends nearby makes it better than anything else. I love being with my husband, parents, and other family members fishing, boating, camping. When we're together in the fresh air I feel content.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-08-07 at 7:06 p.m.
comment